Yao research group focuses on the materials and devices for energy storage and conversion: understanding the structure-property-performance relationship at the atomic level and designing nanostructured materials for advanced lithium batteries, solar cells, and catalysts.

Group photo 20150312 copy
Recent News:
  • Sam's paper on High areal capacity hybrid magnesium−lithium-ion battery with 99.9% Coulombic efficiency for large-scale energy storage is published in ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces. (2015.3)
  • Len and Sam's paper on Interlayer-expanded molybdenum disulfide nanocomposites for electrochemical magnesium storage is published in Nano Letters. (2015.3)
  • Welcome new group members to join UH, Dr. Yoo, Dr. Jian, Xiangyue and Shiyang.